Home made Hair Scrub

I was inspired to make something along the likes of Lush’s Big Shampoo which I have been meaning to try for ages. However, circumstances (primarily laziness and perhaps the price) has prevented me. Since the ingredients seem straightforward enough (sea salt, oils, citric juices…), I felt “why not?”.

However, I ended up using a mix of sugar, coconut and olive oils. It felt a little strange at first and did make a bit of a mess but it actually felt nice to massage and exfoliate my scalp. I did this for about a quarter of an hour, then wrapped my head with a shower cap, bundled it in a towel and left it to “deep condition” whilst I did other chores.

After washing with a non-SLS shampoo (I’ve been trying out a few types), my hair felt nice and clean, without the squeaky clean effect that can sometimes happen after shampooing.

All in all this little “scrubby” experiment has made me realise I quite like a gritty shampoo and I’m probably going to take the plunge and get the clarifying Lush shampoo when I get a chance. Until then, this scrub will do nicely 🙂 I may add lemon juice to it next time.

Leave a Reply

